Truth in My Fiction

You may have heard it said that you should be careful around a writer, because they just might make you a character in their book well . . .

In my young adult book, Cool Springs Girls, the main character Sarah Grace has a friend whose mom is sick. When Sarah Grace’s mom, Lisa, finds out about it, she calls a lady at her church named Michele Thomson who arranges for meals to be brought to Sarah Grace’s friend’s family.

So, here’s the truth in my fiction – Michele Thomson is an actual person. We go to church together, and she leads a meals ministry that takes meals to families that are going through difficult times. Michelle and her team take meals to ladies who have just had a baby and to people who have recently had surgery or sickness or other issues.

Michelle

Michele – you are a hero in my book! (Literally and metaphorically)

When I asked Michele why she has worked so hard in this ministry for so many years, she said, “I just don’t want anyone to feel like no one cares. I want them to know that the people in the church care about them and want to help them.”

I love it. Helping people who are hurting any way we can – I think that is exactly what Jesus wants us to do, don’t you?

One thought on “Truth in My Fiction

  1. Thank you for recognizing Michele’s meals ministry and her team. Michele is very passionate about it & she does an awesome job. She is always prepared when she is called upon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

