Believe Me, It Does

rainbow

          I’ve heard that Jesus is the Alpha and the Omega, the beginning and the end. At church a few days ago we sang a song that said, “You are my first, you are my last. You are my future and my past.” And that got me thinking – in all the areas of my life I’m not at the beginning or the end of anything. I’m SMACK DAB in the middle of everything it seems. In the middle you don’t have the excitement of starting something new anymore, and you don’t yet see the light at the end of the tunnel. In the middle there is the danger of starting to feel like you know how to do life so you don’t need help anymore. In the middle there is the danger of becoming tired and overwhelmed because you can’t see the beginning anymore, and you can’t see the end yet, and you just see middle . . . middle . . . middle everywhere. I believe the middle is a crucial part of any endeavor. Everything I’m involved in – raising kids, marriage, ministry, trying to be a writer is in the middle. Even my age (gulp) is mid-life. (Whew, that sentences was hard to write.) How can I stay energized, positive, optimistic, and confident when I’m in the middle? I have friends who feel the same way, and we’ve talked about how hard it is too feel this way – not the cute young things with no kids anymore, not the retired grandmas with time to spoil everyone yet – we are the Mamas in the Middle. As I was praying about this, the story of Paul and Silas in jail from Acts 16 came to my mind. Paul and Silas were in jail for doing the Lord’s work. In verse 25 it says that “At MIDnight” Paul and Silas were praising the Lord and singing, and the Lord sent an earthquake and delivered them from jail. What this tells me is that I need to praise the Lord in the middle. Even when I’m realizing that I’m not the youngest teacher in the school anymore, that I’m primarily identified as someone’s mom, that my taste in clothes and music is considered “old-lady-ish” by some, but that I still haven’t achieved most of the things I want to achieve – when I am thinking that the middle is really hard – I need to praise the Lord for all He has done, for all He is going to do, and not for anything He has done at all, but just for who He is. This sounds really cliche and simplistic. Will it really work? When I’m feeling that middle feeling will it make a difference to just whisper to God a quick thank you for His blessings? Will it really make a difference to sing a song of praise to Him while I’m cooking dinner? It does. Believe me, it does. So, in the middle of this busy week, remember to PRAISE the Lord of the Beginning, Middle, and End! He is Worthy!

One thought on “Believe Me, It Does

Leave a Reply

