All About Fools . . .

“Mrs. Fouts, you have something on your shirt!”

“Mrs. Fouts, I’m moving!”

“Mrs. Fouts, your shoe is untied!”

“Mrs. Fouts, I got into a car wreck this morning!”

Yes, it’s April Fools Day, and I’m spending it with sixth graders. Don’t feel sorry for me though, last year I played the most epic April Fools joke of my life on my students! I don’t know if I can ever top it. My friend Shannon, who taught next door to me, was quite pregnant at the time, and she and I convinced her class of seventh graders and my class of sixth graders that she was going into labor in the hallway. Most of the kids were so scared out of their minds that they just sat rigid in their seats, mouths agape in horror. It was awesome.

In honor of April Fools Day, I thought I’d look and see what the Bible has to say about fools. Specifically, the book of Proverbs has quite a lot to say on the subject. Here are a few things I found out about fools today . . .

  • Fools mock the Lord, Psalm 74:22.
  • Fools despise wisdom and instruction, Proverbs 1:7.
  • A fool lies and spreads slander, Proverbs 10:18.
  • A fool finds pleasure in wicked schemes, Proverbs 10:23.
  • “Fools show their annoyance at once, but the prudent overlook an insult.” Proverbs 12:16.
  • “A fool’s mouth lashes out with pride.” Proverbs 14:3
  • “A fool is hotheaded.” Proverbs 14:16.
  • “A fool spurns parents’ discipline.” Proverbs 15:5
  • “Fools find no pleasure in understanding, but delight in airing their own opinions.” Proverbs 18:2.
  • “Every fool is quick to quarrel.” Proverbs 20:3.

Proverbs actually says quite a bit more about fools, and there are other places in the Bible that deal with the topic as well. It is my prayer today that I would not be a fool in the Lord’s eyes. I pray that He would give me wisdom!

Also, I pray that the Lord would be with me today as I’m with sixth graders all day on April 1st!

Have a lovely day,

Martha

Leave a Reply

