So, I Did a Thing

2D8A2CC3-05DA-4E6E-A03A-6002CE9B5F36So, I did a thing.

The years & books & computer screens have been unkind to my eyes, rendering me useless in putting on my own eyeliner. The last couple of years my eyeliner has started to look more and more like an uncoordinated kindergartener with a fat, black crayon drew it on. 

Thus the reasoning for the thing I did, the crazy, slightly painful thing. I got permanent eyeliner. Essentially tattoos on my eyes. 

(If my grandmother were to read this, she’d gasp in horror.)

But, here’s the deal. I had a great aunt Edna who tried to apply her own makeup at 85 years old & we mean teenagers giggled at her behind her back. 

Maybe I’m reaping what I sowed? Maybe I’m somehow being paid back for laughing at a poor sweet octogenarian who just wanted to look pretty? 

Perhaps. 

But, I decided I don’t want to look like Edna. Not just yet. There’s still youth in this 44 year old! 

So, here’s the takeaway: Age isn’t a number. It’s a state of mind! I intend to grow old gracefully – to grow in wisdom & maturity. But I intend to fight for the good aspects of youth – the energy, the passion, and yes . . . Decent looking makeup! 

 

 

Leave a comment